Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Ear tags for Soays  (Read 3610 times)

squeasy

• Joined Jan 2012
  • North Yorkshire
Ear tags for Soays
« on: February 03, 2012, 09:35:12 am »
I was wondering if anybody can recommend a good ear tag for Soay lambs?  My ewes are due at the end of February and it is my first time lambing.  I am looking for a make of tag (and eid) that are small enough and gentle (if any of them are) for their very small ears.
Very new to this all.  (very) Smallholder since March 2011 

12 Registered Soay sheep (8 breeding ewes, 2 Rams, 1 wether, 1 retired ewe) 5 Hens, 2 Cats, 1 labrador puppy

tizaala

• Joined Mar 2011
  • Dolau, Llandrindod Wells,Powys
Re: Ear tags for Soays
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2012, 10:02:03 am »
We use Cox Quik EID and cut the bend after fitting so they don't get snagged on anything.

woollyval

• Joined Feb 2008
  • Near Bodmin, Cornwall
    • Val Grainger
    • Facebook
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2012, 10:16:03 am »
Allflex bubblegum work on Ouessants and they have smaller ears than soay! Best thing to do with tiny eared breeds is put the small id tag in at a few days if you cannot tell one from another then put the big tag in when they are lots bigger!
www.valgrainger.co.uk

Overall winner of the Devon Environmental Business Awards 2009

jaykay

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Cumbria/N Yorks border
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2012, 11:21:57 am »
I like Rototags as they're small, no loop to catch and they now do an EID one too.

I don't tag my lambs til they're quite big, I rely on the numbers I spray on after lambing to know who they are and who they belong to.

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2012, 11:45:50 am »