Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Making sausages- should avoid putting fat in altogether?  (Read 3724 times)

WoodlandsDevon

• Joined Jul 2013
  • Devon
Making sausages- should avoid putting fat in altogether?
« on: February 16, 2016, 06:53:41 am »
I need to make some sausages but the meat I have is quite fatty and some people say not to put fat in sausages. Is this right? should I remove all the fat and just put meat in??
Thanks
Khaki Campbells, call ducks and laying hens in sunny Devon

Clarebelle

• Joined Jan 2013
  • Orkney
Re: Making sausages- should avoid putting fat in altogether?
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2016, 07:14:02 am »
I've only made sausages once so I'm no expert but I'm pretty sure that fat is an essential part of a sausage recipe. They need a certain fat content to stay moist. I would say you wouldn't need to remove the fat but then I guess it depends just how fatty your meat is?

HappyHippy

« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2016, 07:26:42 am »
You need fat in your sausages!
The ratio is normally around 80% meat, to 20% fat.
The majority of this will come out during cooking but it's what adds flavour and succulence  :yum:
HTH

Dan

• The Accidental Smallholder
  • Administrator
  • Joined Oct 2007
  • Carnoustie, Angus
    • The Accidental Smallholder
    • Facebook
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2016, 10:12:04 am »
The first year we kept pigs we made our own sausages with almost no fat, thinking they would be fab.  :dunce:

They were pretty unpalatable - dry, tasteless and mealy.

You need the fat for flavour and mouth-feel - listen to HappyHippy, she knows what she's talking about.  :)

oaklandspigs

• Joined Nov 2009
  • East Sussex
    • OaklandsPigs
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2016, 12:14:15 pm »
The fat makes at least half of the flavour !

and they're good fats nowadays !