Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Water  (Read 2663 times)

GeorgeandPepper

• Joined Jun 2013
  • Notts
Water
« on: June 06, 2013, 07:53:34 pm »
Well as you can tell, I am very new to this game and seem to now be in the naughty teenager stage :)  :pig:

We have two big water pools and two water bowls which the past couple of days we fill up and then find they are empty/muddy and struggling to find a solution that means they have fresh water all day long...I am a little worried that they will drink out of the bigger vats if they get dirty but once they have been digging around everything is dirty...is it just a constant battle?

I probably sound like a right newbie and all the experts are sighing haha - just want to make sure that they have a good supply of water that they don't mess around with!

Eastling

• Joined Oct 2010
Re: Water
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2013, 08:53:13 pm »
You could try one of these https://www.suppliesforsmallholders.co.uk/tyre-bowl-feeder-drinker-p-1276.html
 As you know they must have water at all times.
 I clean out the water troughs every day and refill during the day if required. You will never have mud free water containers with pigs!!  Were you able to make them a wallow? it may be that they are trying to make one.
Labradors leave foot prints on your heart as well as your clothes

ScotsGirl

• Joined Dec 2009
  • Wiltshire
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2013, 10:15:04 pm »
We got a 10 gallon drum, put a tap at base with hose attached to a automatic drinker. This works well and you just need to scoop out the mud if it builds up.

Beewyched

• Joined Feb 2011
  • South Wales
    • tunkeyherd.co.uk
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2013, 10:55:44 pm »
Sounds such a familiar tale ... my KKs used to be horrors for tipping their water over to make a wallow - too lazy to go down the woods to the stream  ::)