Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: treasure of knowledge  (Read 3711 times)

langdon

• Joined Sep 2009
  • Pembrokeshire
  • The Happy Smallholder!
treasure of knowledge
« on: March 16, 2010, 03:04:47 pm »
this topic goes out to all of you experienced guys who keep having to
put novices like me right!!!(and i dont mind one bit)
as stated where did ye gain such knowledge.
were ye born into goat keeping?
or was it all trial by error and books and what ever other resourses you had.
anyway thanks for everthing you all have been a great help to me and beth
and of course milly and molly! :goat:
langdon ;)
Langdon ;)

Wizard

• Joined Nov 2009
  • North East Lincolnshire
Re: treasure of knowledge
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2010, 03:51:03 pm »
I'm not a goat expert by any means but by all of your observations plus you may be given information that doesn't sound right All ways remember what is good in NE Linc's may not be good in Welsh Wales Sift it try it and if it works do it until you find something better.It's a bit like compooter experts to all intents and purposes there was very few before Clive made some everyone could afford.Bet theres some grand recollections on a ZX wow or was it WOW :D ;D ??? >:( :D ;D :farmer:
Don't do today what can be put off until tomorrow because today will be yesterday tomorrow

Roxy

• Joined May 2009
  • Peak District
    • festivalcarriages.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2010, 05:02:20 pm »
My dad was a goat keeper many years before me, and when we were youngsters I always remember him having a milking goat, so was brought up with goats, and goat milk of course!!

I got my first kid of my own over 35 years ago!!  I did have a few years break from goat keeping, having lost my last goat to old age the year the foot and mouth hit.  It frightened me, and I did not want to risk keeping goats and losing them to F & M.  But here I am again, with a lot of them.