Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Sheep Husbandry Course  (Read 9766 times)

moprabbit

• Joined Oct 2011
  • North Notts
Re: Sheep Husbandry Course
« Reply #15 on: September 02, 2012, 10:06:31 am »
 I value your comment Sally - thanks very much!
4 pet sheep

suziequeue

• Joined Feb 2010
  • Llanidloes; Powys
« Reply #16 on: September 02, 2012, 10:35:08 am »
Yes mop - agree with Sally. Well done for your foresight.
We do the best we can with the information we have

When we know better we do better

Bramblecot

• Joined Jul 2008
« Reply #17 on: September 02, 2012, 12:51:36 pm »
There are farm experience and livestock training courses advertised in our local paper this week, including sheep management.  I have no personal knowledge of them but the website is:  www.beechhayesfarmtraining.co.uk.  They are based at Churchinford near Taunton, Somerset.  :thumbsup:

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
« Reply #18 on: September 02, 2012, 01:02:42 pm »
7 years ago I did a 2-day course, "Ruminant Health for Smallholders", with Kingfisher Vets, Crewkerne.  Their aim was to give smallholders a good understanding of how to know your sheep (or cow) is healthy, and keep her that way, and when to call the vet and with what information. 

It was one day classroom and one day on farm, the latter giving practical hands-on training in handling sheep (and cattle), trimming feet, inspecting teeth, etc.   It might be worth contacting Kingfisher to see if they are doing any courses now; I think I was on their first one.  There was a grant, I think, for people who had a holding number.
Don't listen to the money men - they know the price of everything and the value of nothing

Live in a cohousing community with small farm for our own use.  Dairy cows (rearing their own calves for beef), pigs, sheep for meat and fleece, ducks and hens for eggs, veg and fruit growing

Bramblecot