Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: flukicides  (Read 3502 times)

Cjnewton82

• Joined Nov 2012
flukicides
« on: January 24, 2014, 10:14:56 am »
I'm new to sheep so don't be to hard on me.
I brought some sheep to turn in to mutton this was only 8weeks ago he promised me they where up to date with all dreaches etc. but they went off this week and all there livers got rejected my the vet at the Abattoir because of  Parasitic condition. Should I treat all my sheep with a wormer and a fluke if so which ones would you use?
Thank you in advance

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
Re: flukicides
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2014, 10:23:39 am »
Fluke damage doesn't heal, so if at any time in a sheep's life, the fluke damage the liver, then that sheep's liver will be condemned when it gets to the abattoir.

Yes, if you are in a flukey area you should fluke - keep your eye on the NADIS parasite forecast for guidance on conditons in your area throughout the year; sometimes you need to fluke all year round, and some years even traditionally non-flukey areas need to fluke.

But don't be too upset about condemned livers - if you rear sheep in a fluke area, you will get condemned livers.  Obviously if you get them in sheep you've reared from lambs yourself then you need to look at your fluking regime, because a flukey sheep is an unproductive sheep and they'll be away faster if you keep them healthy.

Don't listen to the money men - they know the price of everything and the value of nothing

Live in a cohousing community with small farm for our own use.  Dairy cows (rearing their own calves for beef), pigs, sheep for meat and fleece, ducks and hens for eggs, veg and fruit growing

shep53

• Joined Jan 2011
  • Dumfries & Galloway
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2014, 08:14:12 pm »