Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Drop spindle - any experts?  (Read 10331 times)

Greenerlife

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Leafy Surrey
Drop spindle - any experts?
« on: June 06, 2013, 02:34:19 pm »
With my newly acquired fleece, and dye and carding combs in the post via internet - just wondering if there are any experts here with a drop spindle?  have to have a go.

Lesley Silvester

• Joined Sep 2011
  • Telford
Re: Drop spindle - any experts?
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2013, 03:15:11 pm »
I'm an expert at putting the drop into drop spindling.  :roflanim:

Give me a wheel any day.

jaykay

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Cumbria/N Yorks border
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2013, 07:11:35 pm »
Yep, give me a wheel any day too.

I can spin on a spindle, but learned on a wheel first and to be honest, I think I'd have given up if I'd learned on a spindle first.

You can get a secondhand wheel (Ashford traditional is a good, solid bet) for about £100, it's easier to learn (easier mind, not easy) and then once you get going it's way faster too.

The spindle is quite good for spinning at sheep auctions and similar, but I find I never use one at home, in preference to my wheels.

Ashford spinning wheels currently on eBay. Take your pick!

Whereabouts are you, is there one of us spinners nearby who could help? 
« Last Edit: June 06, 2013, 07:15:43 pm by jaykay »

Hillview Farm

• Joined Dec 2012
  • Surrey
  • Proud owner of sheep and Llamas!
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2013, 08:12:30 pm »
I spun for the first time yesterday on a drop spindle and again today. I found a few really good vids on youtube. I just sat with my stuff in front  of the laptop and I've got the hang of it really quickly!

Theres 3 parts to it but it teaches you in the second!

Making Your Own Yarn - Learn to Spin with a Drop Spindle: Part 2 - Tutorial - Expertly Dyed

FiB

• Joined Sep 2011
  • Bala, North Wales
    • Facebook
« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2013, 09:19:12 pm »