Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Broodies  (Read 8651 times)

Cobra

• Joined Jun 2010
  • Somerset
    • Millers Of Sedgemoor
    • Facebook
Broodies
« on: May 09, 2011, 11:33:10 pm »
One of my girls has gone broody. She's been sat tight for two days now. I don't have a cockerel anymore, is it worth getting a few hatching eggs and slipping under her or will she notice and decide to leave the nest. Thanks in advance.

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
Re: Broodies
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2011, 11:47:33 pm »
I'm not an expert on this but what you are suggesting is commonly done - BH has done it all his life.  We have a good broody and will be doing it next time she sits and we can reach the nest::)

I don't know how well they can count (or at least have an idea of quantity) and therefore whether it's a good plan to remove exactly as many as you replace. 

I expect someone more experienced on this will be along to advise us both shortly...
Don't listen to the money men - they know the price of everything and the value of nothing

Live in a cohousing community with small farm for our own use.  Dairy cows (rearing their own calves for beef), pigs, sheep for meat and fleece, ducks and hens for eggs, veg and fruit growing

Cobra

• Joined Jun 2010
  • Somerset
    • Millers Of Sedgemoor
    • Facebook
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2011, 12:01:55 am »
Thanks all helps, i was wondering if I should replace the same amount.

sam.t

• Joined Mar 2009
  • goole east yorkshire
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2011, 06:12:03 am »
dont think it matters 2 much swapping like for like as we sit ours on golf balls for a few days to be sure and only use 5 but our red silkie is now sitting on 12 pheasant eggs so long as u you only put under right amount for size of hen
sam :chook:

Womble

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Stirlingshire, Central Scotland
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2011, 07:37:55 am »