Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Brassica cages, per bed or one huge one?  (Read 9941 times)

Justin

• Joined Jun 2012
  • Devon
Brassica cages, per bed or one huge one?
« on: August 16, 2023, 10:29:24 am »
I'm a novice veg gardener, this is the first year that I've been in charge of the allotment and it's been, well, a steep learning curve involving lots of reading, watching of YouTube and no small amount of tearing of the remaining hair.

Chief problems are slugs (evenings with gloves and scissors, losing count after 200 of the damn things in the raised beds) and then there's the brassica damage. I obviously didn't get the nets on in time and my broccoli, cabbages, sprouts etc have all been absolutely decimated. I've been using water pipe hoops and netting held down with planks and bricks but that makes things awkward when trying to do slug patrol in the evenings.

Over the winter, I'm planning to build a better mousetrap brassica cage setup. Current thought is to make a wooden frame for each raised bed, 3-4' high so that I can then just make up wooden panel frames with netting stapled on and those would clip onto the frames, and hopefully be easier to just remove the side frame panels when doing slug patrol. They would be flat so easy to store in the barn over winter and fairly simple to put on each spring after planting.

However, that's a lot of work to make all the frames and panels. This morning, while letting the chickens out, I was looking at our chicken run that we had to net over for the flu lockdowns by adding extra poles and wires to support the roof net. I got to thinking ( yeah, always a worrying option ) that maybe it would be easier in the long term to just put one big net over the whole raised bed plot using netting small enough to keep out birds and butterflies but large enough to let the pollinators in.

So, has anyone done anything like this before. I guess it's the same as building a fruit cage but for the veg plot.