Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Getting set for first pigs to go to slaughter but have questions...  (Read 3851 times)

Fishyhaddock

• Joined Apr 2009
  • aberdeenshire
I have 2 GOS for private consumption - is it necessary to have a slap mark or can I just put any form of identification on the girls?
Also can you advise where I go to help me look at the choice I have on the various cuts - the slaughter house I am going to use offers this service and all the meat comes back in vacuum packs - but i don't want huge joints etc and if I'm honest I am still learning what bit of meat comes from which bit of pig. Thanks once again,

Re: Getting set for first pigs to go to slaughter but have questions...
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2010, 03:26:31 pm »
Hi,

If the pigs are going to an abbertoir, then they must be tagged or slap-marked.

You can google "cuts of pork" or speak to a butcher, or as we do, tell whoever is doing the butchering the family size it is to be for. ie. a family of 2 will need smaller joints etc than a family of 10! also tell them how you want your sausages - we prefer ours more on the lean side - they dont turn the BBQ into an inferno then!

You will find both pig slappers and tags on our site if you want to take a look.

Thanks
www.suppliesforsmallholders.co.uk - Safe Secure shopping for all your livestock equipment and supplies.
Also www.suppliesforfarmers.co.uk for more larger farm related items

JulieS

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Devon - EX39 5RF
    • Ford Mill Farm
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2010, 03:43:17 pm »
It's worth checking with your abattoir whether they will accept just a slap mark or whether they need to have ear tags.  From previous posts on here it seems to depend on which abattoir you are using.

As SFS says it is a good idea to have a chat with the butcher to let them know the size of joints you will need.  Also think about the things you as a family will eat more of ....Sausages, bacon, mince, chops, joints, etc.