Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Advice Needed - Cracked Teats  (Read 3843 times)

AlexInLincs

• Joined Apr 2010
Advice Needed - Cracked Teats
« on: May 19, 2010, 10:00:59 am »
Hi

I am fairly new to goats and have been milking for a few months now with varying degrees of success.  I am consistently getting 5.5 litres off of my milker in total spread over 2 milkings (3-3.5am and 2-2.5pm).

Recently her teats have cracked and despite my best efforts - creams etc I cannot get any improvement and in fact am worried that my hand milking is making the situation worse.

Any advice?

My thoughts are that I am going to have to stop milking her to get them better - do you agree?  If so what is the best way to go about this?

I am reluctant to stop as she is my only milker, but at the end of the day she comes first.

Thanks

ballingall

• Joined Sep 2008
  • Avonbridge, Falkirk
Re: Advice Needed - Cracked Teats
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2010, 07:54:11 pm »
If you stop milking her you could kill her. She is giving a very good yield, and because of that, if you suddenly stop milking her, she would almost certainly get mastitis, and mastitis, if severe, can kill. Definitely do not stop milking her. I know it is hard when they get sores, because it makes milking uncomfortable for them, but you need to persevere. If you do decide to stop milking her, you have to dry her off properly, reduce how much milk you take from her gradually, and gradually drop the number of milkings down.

I would recommend keeping milking her as normal, has anything changed recently about her routine? Have you changed her bedding or where you get it from? Has she got sunburnt recently? Our goats have been a little sunburnt on their udders over the past few days as its been nicer up here. Was she suckling a kid, and is not now?