Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: finishing muscovy ducks  (Read 3087 times)

farmers wife

• Joined Jul 2009
  • SE Wales
finishing muscovy ducks
« on: October 22, 2015, 04:44:40 pm »
I have 7 drakes prob 16 weeks oldish.  I have dispatched 3 over the weekend, hung them and gutted today.  2 are of poor quality and only 1 is good with the golden fat.  I have never done ducks before and it was all a bit rushed.  They were outside on grass in a large cage fed on organic layers. 

Was the food incorrect - should I get wheat now - surely if one was good then there was something good. Have I missed something? or too late.

Finishing poultry is all new to me. Any tips appreciated.  What do I do with the anorexic ducks in the freezer are they worth roasting or what do you recommend? Thanks

roddycm

• Joined Jul 2013
Re: finishing muscovy ducks
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2015, 05:27:19 pm »
I have 12 muscovies that are 3 weeks old. I plan on keeping two girls and eating the rest so I thought I would follow your post!

I was going to feed mine maize and mash, and keep them in their run rather than let them free range...

RPF

• Joined Feb 2015
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2015, 06:03:19 pm »
Muscovies fatten very easily and do not require anything like mallards. However, if you have any left put them on wheat and barely for a month., it'll be a lot cheaper than layers. You may have a skinny strain of duck? Pick them up and see before dispatching, they may need  a little longer. By 24 weeks there should be plenty on them if not a few weeks before. 16 weeks may be a bit premature for your strain too.

Be very aware when roasting Muscovy. It has half the fat of mallard so always add a bit of water to the pan, cover with foil(apart from the last half hour)  and baste every half hour.  If yours are a bit on the meagre side, roast them whole as not worth mucking about with. Hope this helps.

farmers wife

• Joined Jul 2009
  • SE Wales