Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: pork next month  (Read 7274 times)

SuzyJ

• Joined Dec 2009
  • Bulgaria
    • My Personal Blog
Re: pork next month
« Reply #15 on: April 01, 2010, 09:45:30 pm »
Hubby slaughters and butchers ours at home as there's no slaughterhouse anywhere near us, he's self taught so it may not be exactly the way a trained butcher would do it but it works for us.

The nasty bits get burnt outside and other parts that we don't use, but some will, are taken away by our neighbour who has given us meat from the cows he's slaughtered in exchange.

Must point out that the rules here on pig keeping etc do seem very different - most Bulgarians keep animals for meat.
British Expat trying to live a better life in Bulgaria

langdon

• Joined Sep 2009
  • Pembrokeshire
  • The Happy Smallholder!
« Reply #16 on: April 02, 2010, 09:39:07 am »
do you need papers or anything to offical saying you can do it at home? :pig:
langdon
Langdon ;)

chickenfeed

« Reply #17 on: April 02, 2010, 11:51:10 am »
 :) i think i am right in saying home slaughtered meat can only be eaten by the owners of the animals,unless it is killed by a licenced slaughterman and farm is registered for processing meat. and a injured animal visited and shot by the vet needs a yellow card for the slaughter house to deal with the carcase but animals with a yellow card can only be eaten by the owner :o nothing in farming is straight forward any more just confussing.

Hilarysmum

• Joined Oct 2007
« Reply #18 on: April 02, 2010, 02:06:37 pm »
If you go for home slaughter as much for your own sake as the pig's make sure the slaughterer is a) VERY experienced and b) uses a humane slaughterer.  Dont take excuses.  Its not a pleasant sight or sound if done wrongly.  The adrenalin ruins the meat, the noise is horrendous and the sight in badly executed (sorry no pun intended) cases is nightmarish.

A good slaughterman / house is worth its weight.

langdon

• Joined Sep 2009