Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: started harvesting the onions  (Read 2306 times)

pgkevet

• Joined Jul 2011
started harvesting the onions
« on: October 03, 2015, 01:02:46 am »
.. well i got about half of them  before it got tedious. the weeds had taken over that bit and it was a case of feeling for the onions in the row. I did lift 3/4 of my tractor's bucketful and then trim the tops up and lay them out in the hay shed to dry. I found they kept better like that last year than in net sacks hanging in the main barn..
I'll probably give the second half another week or two to wither more in the ground and start lifting spuds meanwhile..

princesslayer

• Joined Jan 2013
  • Tadley, Hants
Re: started harvesting the onions
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2015, 08:08:25 am »
When did you plant them? I'm a beginner with onions so looking for tips. I lifted mine long ago but didn't plant enough to store so they got eaten pretty quick. Some of my reds went squishy so I got them all up thinking they might all go the same way.
Keeper of Jacob sheep, several hens, Michael the Cockerel and some small children.

pgkevet

• Joined Jul 2011
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2015, 08:29:53 am »
Planted end of march (I think).. about 700 white and 200 red..most of the reds bolted.
We've just been pulling and eating as needed but with the weather getting colder soon I decided not to wait any longer for the majority to do a natural die-back before lifting 'cos the tops may not dry off out doors.
My first year here the onions and parsnips were a disaster but large amounts of dung, vegetable matter and woodchip ploughed into the beds has turned that around.
Last years onions were lifted (I think) beginning september and lasted until mid april before i had to dump the reminder as rotted, soft or too sprouted.
If these were well weeded and better ventilated they might stay better but the weeding got the better of me (again)

cloddopper

• Joined Jun 2013