Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Training services - any demand?  (Read 3733 times)

old ploughman

• Joined Jun 2010
Training services - any demand?
« on: June 13, 2010, 09:51:17 pm »
Hi there,

I am looking for some feedback. I am a farmer (only 50 acres  :-[) in Shropshire. I used to run quite a large farm contracting business alongside my small farm before deciding to leave the rat race a few years ago. I now produce hay and haylage off my 50 acres, mainly for the horse market, and continue a small contracting operation doing what I can on my own - ploughing, hedgetrimming, hedgelaying, fencing, haymaking, etc. I also spent some time as a trainer - teaching tractor driving, forklift and telehandler operators

Though I say it myself, I am pretty good at what I do and my desire to do a job well lead me to start entering ploughing matches about 6 years ago. To cut a long story short - I am the current British reversible ploughing champion and have just returned from the World Championships in New Zealand. I have previously represented England in the European Championships in Denmark and Czech Republic. I am not telling you that to be big-headed, only so that you know my credentials.

To cut to the chase - I have long thought that there must be a demand for someone to teach people (especially smallholders?) how to plough and possibly fence and hedgelay - all skills which are quickly disappearing. So, is there a demand for such a service? Or am I just fooling myself and no-one really wants to learn these skills?

I look forward to your replies,

regards

old ploughman

cairnhill

• Joined Dec 2008
  • Aberdeenshire
Re: Training services - any demand?
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2010, 10:16:38 pm »
wish you were in Scotland!  Im sure there would be a demand.  Good luck  :D

valr

• Joined Apr 2010
  • Brightons nr Falkirk
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2010, 10:32:07 pm »
If there was a service like that in Scotland I too would use it!

doganjo