Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: raising dairy bull calf for veal  (Read 6272 times)

Cjnewton82

• Joined Nov 2012
raising dairy bull calf for veal
« on: April 26, 2015, 01:50:48 am »
ok I have been offed 2 dairy bull calfs, they are 4 weeks old still on the bottle from a dairy  farmer I know. I was thinking of raising them to 9months old to produce veal for our freezers and some friends. but im new to cattle and would like some advice  feed rates amount of milk needed a day water requirements etc  pros and cons of my idea before I go futher thank you in advance
« Last Edit: April 26, 2015, 01:55:39 am by Cjnewton82 »

Jamie12

• Joined Nov 2013
Re: raising dairy bull calf for veal
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2015, 03:48:23 pm »
Wouldn't have thought you'd make much money from them, input is expensive for calves. I'd feed milk twice a day, id asume they would be on two litres of milk at present? always allow access to clean fresh water, ventilation is a big thing for calves, access to cake but don't give them so much that they waste it all, don't start wean from milk until they are eating at least kg of cake. Keep everything very clean. What sort of health status is the farm/herd? Do they lose many calves, if o why?  Read up on common issues and illnesses, calves can get very Ill very quickly.

Sbom

• Joined Jul 2012
  • Staffordshire
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2015, 06:45:08 pm »
Have you tried veal? It's not the tastiest meat in the world and would be a waste to go to the trouble of producing something you end up not liking/eating.

Bionic

• Joined Dec 2010
  • Talley, Carmarthenshire
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2015, 07:32:26 pm »
I love veal but I don't think there is a great market for it. Where I live its very difficult to get hold of (I posted on here about a year ago, looking for some) I tried the local supermarkets and the all looked at me blank. I ended up ordering it for collection from M&S