Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Stupid question?  (Read 3531 times)

Bex

• Joined Aug 2014
  • Wales
Stupid question?
« on: November 09, 2014, 02:21:04 pm »
Sorry folks if this is a ridiculously stupid question. I've no experience with cows so far but am planning to have them on our smallholding eventually so I'm thinking about them now.

My question is, will cows keep producing milk as long as you keep milking them? I know they need to calve in the first place but for our small household a calf every year would be far too much, however I'd like milk all the time. Could we calve every other year (or even every three years) but still successfully milk her while not in calf?

I'm planning on dexters if that makes any difference.
Little bugs have lesser bugs upon their backs to bite 'em. And lesser bugs have lesser bugs and so ad infinitum!

Anke

• Joined Dec 2009
  • St Boswells, Scottish Borders
Re: Stupid question?
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2014, 04:32:57 pm »
If you only want milk for the house/family you may be better off with goats - a good milker will go for at least two years, and often longer (if you purchase with that in mind), take up much less space/grazing area, feed bill, can be taken to vet easily in van/trailer, etc etc - and so far no regular TB testing costs...

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2014, 06:02:26 pm »
i know of Jerseys milking for two years and longer but am told that both quantity and quality decline rapidly after 12 months. You can sell weaned, or even weaned calves, so I'm not sure why an annual calf per cow is a problem? And what other bovine are you thinking of for company for her if not another milking cow?
Don't listen to the money men - they know the price of everything and the value of nothing