Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Need advice on selling  (Read 4514 times)

clydesdaleclopper

• Joined Aug 2009
  • Aberdeenshire
Need advice on selling
« on: October 01, 2014, 05:01:55 pm »
Unfortunately we are going to have to sell our Clydesdale  :'(   I have no experience of selling horses and was hoping that people could give me some advice on how to go about it.
Our holding has Anglo Nubian and British Toggenburg goats, Gotland sheep, Franconian Geese, Blue Swedish ducks, a whole load of mongrel hens and two semi-feral children.

ellied

• Joined Sep 2010
  • Fife
    • Facebook
Re: Need advice on selling
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2014, 05:42:51 pm »
If registered with papers etc try the breed society. Most have a sales facility and looking through will give a feel for the market.

Other than that just be clear and honest, expect daft questions and insulting offers and wait til the right person comes.

Specify work the horse has done, whether any tack or equipment is available and/or included in price, mention any vices or notifiable health issues, as well as obvious height, age etc.
Barleyfields Smallholding & Kirkcarrion Highland Ponies
https://www.facebook.com/kirkcarrionhighlands/
Ellie Douglas Therapist
https://www.facebook.com/Ellie-Douglas-Therapist-124792904635278/

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2014, 05:50:14 pm »
 :hug:
Don't listen to the money men - they know the price of everything and the value of nothing

Live in a cohousing community with small farm for our own use.  Dairy cows (rearing their own calves for beef), pigs, sheep for meat and fleece, ducks and hens for eggs, veg and fruit growing

midtown

• Joined Oct 2013
  • English Lake District
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2014, 06:03:56 pm »
Everything Ellied has said, and I'll emphasise not trying to hide any vices.