Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: New Allotment - Help and adviced needed  (Read 2855 times)

nutterly_uts

• Joined Jul 2014
  • Jersey - for now :)
New Allotment - Help and adviced needed
« on: August 20, 2014, 09:41:02 pm »
Hi everyone :)

I've just had word that I might be offered a sort of allotment :) Its part of a larger organic field that has been split down a bit as the owner found it too much - there are currently 2 other people with plots as part of it, and their "rent" is produce swapped back to the owner, as well as tips and help as they have lots of experience.

I have no experience, but am more then happy to give back produce :thumbsup:
Now I don't know how big an area I'm being offered, but I'm going to look at it end of this week or early next I think.

What do I need to get on and do if I take this on/get offered it? What should I be planting now for over the winter?
Can you recommend any books to look at? I'm off to explore this forum now

Thanks  :excited:

Lesley Silvester

• Joined Sep 2011
  • Telford
Re: New Allotment - Help and adviced needed
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2014, 11:30:08 pm »
Geoffrey Hamilton wrote excellent books about organic gardening. I presume you would have to keep it organic as the field already is. Growing this winter will largely depend on what it's like at the moment. Has it been cultivated regularly or is it pasture or weeds? If the latter, you would be best covering it with black plastic or large, flattened cardboard boxes with weights on top to kill off everything, then starting next spring.

pgkevet

• Joined Jul 2011
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2014, 08:20:54 am »
Congrats. A lot to think about and depends on size of plot, enthusiasm, resources and how long you're likely to be there and what you may be allowed to plant: veggies, flowers, soft fruit, trees...

This is the time of year to start cadging stuff from seeds to strawberry runners and still not too late to try a few cuttings..

Mammyshaz