Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: HELP please: ancient Kenwood Chef attachements  (Read 5153 times)

northfifeduckling

• Joined Jan 2009
  • Fife
    • North Fife Blog
HELP please: ancient Kenwood Chef attachements
« on: April 05, 2014, 04:59:24 pm »
Hi, maybe someone knows what best to use here?

I want to make Wild Garlic Pesto. Tried the liquidiser - too dry, it just can't do it. Broke a food chopper on wild garlic last year, too stringy, it got stuck and burnt the chopper out.
 I found an old Kenwood Chef in the cupboard (from the 60s or 70s I reckon) but have no idea which attachment might be useful here...I've never used it before....The options are:
 slicer shredder ?  Instructions only mention harder veg and nuts, not herbs
 maybe the meat mincer? I can see how it will clog up the tube though.

I so hope someone still know the machine!

Greenerlife

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Leafy Surrey
Re: HELP please: ancient Kenwood Chef attachements
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2014, 05:22:45 pm »
I don't have too many attachments for my Kenwood but I do always use the liquidiser to make pesto and have the same issues.  I usually end up doing it in small quantities of dry ingredients (slightly pre chopped garlic, and separately done nuts) and I put in all the oil at the beginning then add the dry stuff a bit at a time.  Seems to get me there in the end.  I have had my Kenwood at least twenty years, and never used the slicer!

Clarebelle

• Joined Jan 2013
  • Orkney
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2014, 06:02:58 pm »
i use the liquidiser too, i dont tend to have any problems with it being too dry. I add a little bit of oil at a time until it reaches the right consistancy for the liquidiser to easily chops the herbs.

northfifeduckling

• Joined Jan 2009
  • Fife
    • North Fife Blog
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2014, 06:15:57 pm »