Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Calf House  (Read 2795 times)

Superted

• Joined Jan 2014
Calf House
« on: January 23, 2014, 03:37:09 pm »
Hi lads and ladies, don't know if it was mentioned before, couldn't find anything, but thinking of buying a few drop calves in and just putting in a loose pen. I have one in corner of hayshed, about 10 foot by 18 foot. Anybody any experience of this? its my first time with the calves and didn't want to have to start in building individual pens.

Is handy enough to feed them when they are loose? any hints/tips be appreciated

shygirl

• Joined May 2013
Re: Calf House
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2014, 07:04:33 pm »
i havent kept calves like this but have visited farmparks where they kept calves toegther in a small sheds and fed them milk by the bucket loads.

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2014, 10:58:09 pm »
BH used to buy in calves and rear them on a bucket in loose pens.

His tips include:

• never buy a calf that's less than 1 month old
  • test that they will suck - really suck - your fingers before you buy ;)
  • check that they've been on a bucket - or accept that you will have to bucket train them, and some of them will be really difficult ::)
  • only buy from a farm that's TB4, has been vaccinating for BvD for at least two years, other health accreditation is good, of course
  • it's best to buy direct from farm, not through the ring, and build a relationship with the person who starts the calves.  If buying through the ring, only buy if you've had a chance to talk to the farmer and check the above

In terms of keeping them, give them a double dose of Pen & Strep on arrival to knock out any nasties they're bringing with them.  BH used to feed them PFS or similar for the first 24 hours, then introduce the milk replacer.