Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Bok ( Hi!! ) from Croatia  (Read 3213 times)

Tomouse

• Joined Nov 2013
  • Dubrava, Croatia
Bok ( Hi!! ) from Croatia
« on: December 29, 2013, 06:05:52 pm »
Hi there

As I have been 'lurking' around here for a wee while soaking up all the sound advice and info I thought I best introduce myself and my 'clan' :wave:

My name is Tom and I escaped the UK and moved to Croatia just under a year ago with my partner (now pregnant wife  ;D ) Eve, my 2 slightly special rescue dogs ( Sam and Monty ) and a grumpy cat called Bryan.......

We purchased a small farm with a house, several barns, pig sty's (sp!! ), an old cottage and 45 acres of land and woodland with the aim of taking a step back and trying to live for ourselves a little and less for our jobs. I'm a furniture maker and bespoke joiner by trade and shipped my whole workshop of machines over here a few months ago. My lovely wife Eve owned a traditional pub in the UK ( our home for many years ) and is now turning her talented hands to the hospitality side of things out here.

Self sufficiency is a way of life here not a chosen path and everyone is raised with the skills to be able to live from the land..... I'm a country boy born and bred but I have learnt so much in such a small space of time and everyday is a school day.

We plan to get chickens and rabbits in the next few weeks and will be preparing for local rare breed pigs and milking goats in the spring. The field we are using for ourselves has been ploughed ready for planting in spring and now we are just waiting for the snows and minus 20 degree (!!) temperatures of January to pass before a very busy year begins.....

It has been the most incredible first year here and quite a learning curve as you may imagine. The welcome we have received and the kindness of the locals has been very humbling and in a very short space of time we felt that this 'new' home was going to be just perfect for us.