Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: contradicting FECs  (Read 3493 times)

ladyK

• Joined Dec 2012
  • Conwy Valley
contradicting FECs
« on: March 19, 2014, 09:07:29 pm »

I have had some confusing FEC results on my two donkeys this week.
I sent off a postal FEC sample to Westgate labs this Monday, result came back on Tuesday with a count of 1200 epg. Gulp.
Phoned the vet today as I'm new to all things equine and didn't just want to order a wormer online. Partly because the result didn't sit right (vet who knows my pasture set up didn't think the donks would need worming before autumn), partly because I didn't want to tell her I had done a FEC count elsewhere cheaper, I brought in another sample to be tested at the vets. Result came back as <100.
Vet says of course no worming is necessary now, test again in 3 months.

I'm inclined to trust the vets, but I know Westgate are highly recommended here. Is it possible they just mixed up samples? I now also have concerns over several sheep samples I had done by Westgate the week before (all came back clear - but who knows what they were looking at? I must also say I don't like their inconsistent reporting format, on the four samples I have sent in, every result has come back in a different format.

How is it possible to get such wildly different FEC results in the fist place? (samples taken 2 days apart).
Which result should I believe?
Anybody else has had this happen?
"If one way is better than another, it is the way of nature." (Aristotle)

mowhaugh

• Joined Jul 2013
  • Scottish Borders
    • Facebook
Re: contradicting FECs
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2014, 09:49:03 pm »