Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Double digging  (Read 3659 times)

Goldcraig

• Joined Jan 2012
  • North Ayrshire
Double digging
« on: October 16, 2013, 11:05:26 am »
Ok, so the horse manure and shavings from the start of the year are pretty well rotted down...
If I double dig next years beds with the natural material and fleece over the winter, would it be time enough if I completed this in November?...thanks
Trust me.....I'm a Chef !!

Greenerlife

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Leafy Surrey
Re: Double digging
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2013, 01:33:05 pm »
I hope so!  That's what i am doing (minus the fleece)

Lesley Silvester

• Joined Sep 2011
  • Telford
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2013, 10:52:38 pm »
Yes and it will allow any frost to break down the soil further. Any compost/manure that isn't fully rotted will get the worm treatment as well.  :thumbsup:

cloddopper

• Joined Jun 2013
  • South Wales .Carmarthenshire. SA18
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2013, 11:44:56 pm »
Yes.

When digging stand on a wide plank or sections of old plywood so you spread your weight and don't compact what your standing on especially if it's wet and you have a high clay content soil .

FYI
I dug my lawn beds four  years ago  18 inches down to get rid of the buldrs rubble etc. and layered it with well rotted stable stuff on as I worked backwards . I weed killed it twice to get rid of the weds that came with the stable muck .
 Three years ago I raked it over and re dug things to the same depth and added more well rotted manure . played at making a lawn raking and taking off stones etc.  Then sowed with a fine fescue lawn mix hoping for a great lawn
The first six months saw a great lawn emerging then it went crazy .. dock , plantains and loads of clover came through . mid last year I gave it a thorough lawn sand treatment .
 The plantains & clovers came back twofold .
 This week gone  I've used some thing akin to Grazon to kill off the weeds.

Moral of the story:-