Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: When to change raddle?  (Read 10204 times)

chonty

• Joined Sep 2013
  • Herefordshire
When to change raddle?
« on: October 23, 2013, 11:30:45 am »
Hi all

I put my boy in with the girls (all pedigree whitefaced woodlands) on the 5/10 looking for an early March start of lambing. Well the ladies obviously weren't ready to play ball as he has only just started marking them. so far 1 today and 1 yesterday. So my plan was to change the colour of the raddle at 17 days to catch the ewes next cycle.

My question is do I still change the raddle today regardless that he's only just started marking the girls?

If it helps there are only 5 ewes, never had this happen as I've never tried to tup this early and it's my first year with woodies. Ive been told hill breeds are late to come into season though.

Any thoughts would be most welcome :)

Foobar

• Joined Mar 2012
  • South Wales
Re: When to change raddle?
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2013, 11:40:48 am »
Mine went in on the 5th Oct too, and I changed my raddle colour yesterday, but all but my some of my ewe-lambs have been marked already.  I would would change your colour yes,  if only to ensure that those two aren't re-marked.

Even hill breeds should come into season in October, but maybe it depends on your local conditions.  Mine are welsh hill sheep, but I'm in the lowlands of south wales.

chonty

• Joined Sep 2013
  • Herefordshire
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2013, 11:48:48 am »
Many thanks foobar, yes I should have changed yesterday ;) but working and on call all night! Well I can't imagine conditions would be much different I am lowland herefordshire so we'll see.

ZaktheLad

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Thornbury, Nr Bristol
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2013, 12:06:22 pm »