Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Pear Tree falling over - Help  (Read 10967 times)

Tullywood Farm

Pear Tree falling over - Help
« on: August 09, 2009, 09:03:05 am »
We have a lovely Pear Tree which fruits every year and is around six years old.

The weight of its branches have pulled it over this week, and even taking off the fruit it is
hard to try and pull it up into the upright position, it is leaning over badly.

What would be the best thing to do - will it die?

We can only think to try and put a fencing post in behind it a few feet away and hist it up with a thick rope, but this might damage the bark.

The main trunk is about 8 inches circ. and most of the branches are only two feet up off the ground from the trunk base???

Any suggestions from horti people gratefully received

Julie

HappyHippy

Re: Pear Tree falling over - Help
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2009, 09:38:15 am »
Hi Julie,
I'm not a horti expert - but found this on the web for you, it might help ?
Karen

here is how you can save a leaning tree (…and you might want to take preventative action on trees that are leaning now). By the way, if the tree falls over, cut it up for firewood - it cannot be saved. These instructions only apply to trees that are LEANING

1. You need to stabilize the tree (stop it from leaning more). The best way to do thisis by propping it up. Anything long enough and strong enough will do.  Your local friendly engineering workshop will make you up Y shaped prop, or you can use a stout bit of timber (cut down floor or roof joist from a skip, 3″x3″ fence post, something like that). An Acrow prop would be the best if you can get one - incredibly strong and capable of being made longer or shorter while in position.