Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Extending the Range of a WI Fi network for Owl Watching and Lambing  (Read 4835 times)

Bramblecot

• Joined Jul 2008
Hi To All
I am new to this subject, but am baffled
We have a barn about 200 yards from the house, which we use for lambing. Last winter was hellish in the mud going at all hours to check for new borns etc. Recently in our Barn Owl Tea Chest boxes we have had a family move in and at least two owlets are being fed. We would like to be able to view the owls feeding but then to use the camera for next year's lambing
We have bought an infra red web cam that can be run off an inverter but is either LAN cabled or WI Fi
There is no mains power or phone in the barn and I wondered if anyone has ever managed to extend the range of their Home Wi Fi Hub to give coverage at such a distance?
I have tried Maplins with no luck Signal booster have been mentioned but I don't know their capability
Regards   Bob

happygolucky

• Joined Jan 2012
Re: Extending the Range of a WI Fi network for Owl Watching and Lambing
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2013, 09:45:08 am »
This interests me too, we have a problem with our stone walls, the signal from our BT wireless home hub will not penetrate them and  I wanted to put our web cam in the whelping room to watch pups when they arrive!

Foobar

• Joined Mar 2012
  • South Wales
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2013, 10:22:44 am »
You need a wireless repeater (or several) in order to extend your wifi range.  Google that and you will find lots of different sorts available.

90driver

• Joined Mar 2013
  • Independent Land Rover Specialst
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2013, 12:51:55 pm »
I managed to get a reliable connection across a field over 150meters. Using a standard belkin wifi router in the window of my house and a huge hi gain antenna in my workshop. Has been reliable for prob 8 years. The wifi repeaters all require a power source of some description.

bazzais

• Joined Jan 2010