Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Tractor brakes...how to test?  (Read 2259 times)

Fieldfare

• Joined Feb 2011
Tractor brakes...how to test?
« on: July 15, 2013, 01:22:05 pm »
Hi all- I am new to tractor driving/owning (ca. 1week!) and beginning to think about the important things! How do I know my brakes are optimal or could be better? My MF135 has drum brakes and to be honest compared to a car brakes they are not very responsive when going down a hill and I only really feel comfortable in stopping it on the flat (I guess one needs to anticipate and ensure you are in a low gear which I am doing).
I am ensuring I am safe (anticipting well in advance) and will get it looked at by an engineer as I have a niggling doubt they should be better- but any thoughts of yours would again be very welcome.
cheers

Still playing with tractors

• Joined Jul 2012
  • Cumbernauld
  • You can never have enough HP
Re: Tractor brakes...how to test?
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2013, 01:36:34 pm »
Drum brakes will never be that good, compared to oil immersed disks, but they should feel safe to use. if you have no service records for it, you may need to look at replacing the shoes or linings.

The Woodsiders

• Joined Aug 2011
  • Near Horley in Surrey
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2013, 01:38:51 pm »
Best way is to get them checked out by someone qualified to do so, beware of the "I did my mates brakes brigade" I speak from experience as a long standing commercial vehicle engineer

Still playing with tractors

• Joined Jul 2012
  • Cumbernauld
  • You can never have enough HP
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2013, 01:53:57 pm »
totally agree with Markcott, if your not sure get a timeserved agri engineer to look at them these people are worth their weight in gold.

stufe35

• Joined Jan 2013
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2013, 10:47:35 pm »