Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Grazing or grass cutting  (Read 2964 times)

mojocafa

• Joined Sep 2012
  • Angus
Grazing or grass cutting
« on: June 09, 2013, 09:19:44 am »
I have a 2 acre field which at the moment houses some chickens and 14 Pygmy goats.

I also have a husband who last Saturday sliced a considerable part of his hand off and is currently in hospital and will be there for the foreseeable future.

Yesterday my dad who is in his 70's spend 8 hrs yesterday cutting grass and it is still not finished.

So at last to my question...

...for a while I have been thinking of getting sheep, but have no knowledge of them. For the last 6 months reading sheep threads on here, I now realise its not quite as simple as sticking a few sheep in a field so my options are...

Go in at the deep end and get some sheep as a complete novice, knowing that although I won't have the hassle of grass maintaining, I will have sheep maintaining. Which is easier grass cutting or sheep?

Or do I try and find someone that is looking for grazing for their sheep and I could learn from the experience?

Or do I just try to find someone who can maintain the grass?

Your thoughts are welcomed, cheers mojo
pygmy goats, gsd, border collie, scots dumpys, cochins, araucanas, shetland ducks and geese,  marrans, and pea fowl in a pear tree.

lachlanandmarcus

• Joined Aug 2010
  • Aberdeenshire
Re: Grazing or grass cutting
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2013, 10:28:40 am »
I would if it's fenced ok get someone to come in with their sheep, even if you only charge them a pound to do it (better to charge something and have a written agreement about how long as it avoids them claiming any rights as long as its under 365 days and in writing).

That would be the ideal. Or if you want a really glossy green look, geese are good if a bit noisy. They do poop but if they have enough space it's not bad, it's when they are squashed in that their fields get yucky.

jaykay

• Joined Aug 2012