Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Any idea? Dead Ewe expecting twins  (Read 3390 times)

PPF

• Joined Jul 2012
Any idea? Dead Ewe expecting twins
« on: March 14, 2013, 01:28:43 pm »
Hi Guys
I'm pretty new to sheep and took on two Zwartables just before Christmas.  Both were in tup.

One of them had aborted last year and this year was expecting twins.  Recently she started to look very wide and happy.  Just a few days ago I noticed a change in her shape.  She became like a triangle effect.  Her backbone looked high and the tummy looked dropped, but I also noticed that between her front legs looked like her chest bone was sticking out.  The chap I bought them off said she was fine.

Both her and another Ewe have had access to ad lib hay and they also get fed Ewe nuts each day.

The other Ewe looks fine at the moment, however she's not that friendly so I can't get very close.

This morning I found the Ewe on the floof with what looked like a clearish liquid which had come from her nose or mouth in a puddle.  When I picked her up she also felt like she was full of water or air.

Any ideas please?  I know sheep are prone to just falling down dead, but I feel I need to know that it's not something which I may have caused.

fsmnutter

• Joined Oct 2012
  • Fettercairn, Aberdeenshire
Re: Any idea? Dead Ewe expecting twins
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2013, 01:45:58 pm »
Hi there,
There are a number of causes of sudden death in sheep, and it can be so frustrating to see one you've been nurturing just give up.
The change in shape you describe could well be normal for getting close to lambing, or may have been stretching and tearing of abdominal muscles, but unusual if only her second lambing and carrying twins shouldn't be too much of a stretch.