Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Potatoes (again!)  (Read 2735 times)

HesterF

• Joined Jul 2012
  • Kent
  • HesterF
Potatoes (again!)
« on: March 17, 2013, 10:01:39 am »
This is my first year of growing potatoes so I ordered a beginners collections from T&M with first earlies, second earlies, maincrop and late maincrop. I've been chitting the first earlies for a while but haven't yet planted them because the ground has either been soaking wet or frozen - neither of which felt quite right. Also they've been very slow to chit so one variety has still barely got anything more than eyes on there.

I've just opened the box to get the second earlies out and realised all the potatoes in the box (which was shut and covered up so must have been pitch black) have been chitting away like crazy. So my question is whether I can just plant them all out at the same time. I think main crop are supposed to go in in late March anyway and the back end of this week, touch wood, looks like it might be a little more spring like. Will they just all mature at different rates or should I still try and stagger the planting so that some go in in April? TBH, it would make it easier to do them all together because I can work out all the spacings better and make sure I have a balance between the varieties - otherwise I'll no doubt plant all my earlies and then realise later I've got no room for the maincrops.

Thanks!

Hester

Clarebelle

• Joined Jan 2013
  • Orkney
Re: Potatoes (again!)
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2013, 10:05:40 am »
I have had a similar experience this year. Its the first time ive done potatoes and ive only got three potato bags to do them in so i only got one variety of seed potato. I had them in a shut box in a dark cool place like you but when i went to put the first lot in they had all gone mad! In the end i decided to still stagger them as I know I would end up with more wastage if I dont as we dont eat alot of potatoes anyway.

deepinthewoods