Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: ewe's cycle  (Read 3232 times)

firemansam

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Staffordshire
ewe's cycle
« on: January 08, 2013, 08:10:58 pm »
How late in the year will ewes generally cycle. I have some easycare ewes, will they still be able to take the ram in feb

Raine

• Joined May 2011
  • Lincoln
Re: ewe's cycle
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2013, 07:08:27 am »
 :wave:

I was asking a similar thing about buying two ewes last weekend.

I needn't have worried  :o :o .  Our ram was on our ladies within hours, even though they are not so interested  :roflanim: .   Looks like a benny hill show half the time!

I'm no expert, but I would expect you may be ok.

Calvadnack

• Joined Jun 2009
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2013, 01:59:49 pm »
Last year we put the ram to some of our Shetlands first week in January.  They were all covered within 3 weeks - but our Shetland girls are total flirty Gerties !

Marches Farmer

• Joined Dec 2012
  • Herefordshire
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2013, 05:26:42 pm »
Will you really want to be lambing in July, though?  Grass may be poor by then and it doesn't give the ewes much chance to regain condition before returning to the tup if you want to lamb in Spring next year.

lachlanandmarcus

• Joined Aug 2010
  • Aberdeenshire
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2013, 05:35:46 pm »
also might be into fly season while they are still feeding from mum - milky udder attracting the flies? And makes shearing a bit of a headache in terms of lambs not being very independent. OK if early Feb maybe but I wouldnt ideally want it later. Esp as ewes could take a few days/week to come into season. But in answer to the question, I think it is likely ram will get them in lamb, yes.

Ina

• Joined Feb 2012
  • South Aberdeenshire
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2013, 06:00:00 pm »
And makes shearing a bit of a headache in terms of lambs not being very independent.

Easycare don't need shearing, as far as I am aware!