Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Helping the hatch  (Read 6081 times)

Goldcraig

• Joined Jan 2012
  • North Ayrshire
Re: Helping the hatch
« Reply #15 on: January 03, 2012, 04:23:16 pm »
I find this totally fascinating......As a family looking to start with chickens, a little daunting, but totally engrossing, wee chicks for us me thinks...to start anyway  :thumbsup:

Keep up the good work....
Trust me.....I'm a Chef !!

Dizzycow

• Joined Dec 2010
  • Fife
« Reply #16 on: January 03, 2012, 04:59:49 pm »
Interesting stuff. One of the ones I helped out slept overnight in poo which glued it to the paper, so it spent the night on its side. Now it's wonky. Could have been the fact that I helped it, could have been the getting stuck on its side overnight, or it could be that when I peeled the egg its foot was glued to its head with dried out white. So in fact I'm still no further forward with whether it's better to let nature take its course, or whether it's better to take the risk of weakness / deformity in order to maximise the hatch. The other 2 I helped are thriving. It's a dilemma.

With splaying I think wool is the best as it doesn't stick. We've had great success with it.

Well, Goldcraig, if you want chickens I'm selling my chicks!

I put off getting chickens for 12 years because I read some chicken keeping books and they scared the bejeesus out of me. They focus on all of the complications and problems so that you can refer to them if needs be. But in reality, you buy chickens, a coop and corn, lock them up at dark, let them out in the morning, feed, water and clean them, and that's pretty much it! This forum is obviously fantastically useful and infinitely better than a book as nothing beats first hand experience. Go for it!

little blue

• Joined Jun 2009
  • Derbyshire
« Reply #17 on: January 03, 2012, 06:10:09 pm »
good advice dc!

Jaykay, or whoever ... do you have any photos of splinted legs you could share?