Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: What is drench & twin lamb disease  (Read 19075 times)

The Chicken Lady

• Joined Mar 2008
  • Cheshire
What is drench & twin lamb disease
« on: February 16, 2009, 06:46:40 pm »
My 5 ryeland ewes are due to lamb after 15th March for the first time so am only expecting singles. What is twin lamb disease and what is drench  :-\  As you can tell I am new to all this. My brother-in-law will be on hand to give advice at lambing time but as a midwife I have my gloves at the ready  :P I am feeding them as advice given on this site and they have minerals. Is there anything else I should be doing  ::)  :sheep:
Karen

tirdu

• Joined Feb 2009
Re: What is drench & twin lamb disease
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2009, 07:04:59 pm »
Twiin lamb disease is a lack of energy due to the lambs taking it all up out of the ewe. The drench is the liquid product which you give to the ewes that are suffering with it. This drench contains energy to help the ewe get back on her feet. My way of dealing  with the problem for many years is if a sheep is suffering from twin lamb they a give them a bottle full of lucozade straight down, works wonders.

danndans

• Joined Jan 2008
  • aberystwyth
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2009, 07:42:21 pm »
we've used that loads of times Tirdu...............also another good one is porridge and brown sugar  ;D  i also put black treacle on it  ;)

glucose is a good quick fix its absorbed very quick so gets to work alot quicker
Make your words soft and sweet, as one day you may have to eat them.

tirdu

• Joined Feb 2009
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2009, 08:02:18 pm »
Did the lucozade work 4 u then dandanns? Certainly does for us ?  ;D

danndans

• Joined Jan 2008
  • aberystwyth
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2009, 08:43:57 pm »
yep does, andhaving the chemist at the end of the lane means its there at hand when ever we want it ;D

tirdu

• Joined Feb 2009
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2009, 11:16:40 pm »