Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: playing at making plant pots  (Read 8615 times)

Plantoid

• Joined May 2011
  • Yorkshireman on a hill in wet South Wales
playing at making plant pots
« on: November 06, 2011, 06:45:59 pm »
This is something I have been playing with for about ten years .. 100 mm lengths of rain water pipe 75 mm across for the square or round tubes and sink waste pipe of 44 mm dia same length .

The sponge insert is of the same foam as the swimming noodles .. This white foam squares came out of scrapped trampoline side safety pads , I cut it into squares on my band saw .. I use the foam noodle cut into 12 mm rounds for another size tube with a bit of a modification to get it to fit well

Insert in a square tube

Square insert in a round tube

Leggy lettuce , should have been in the veg beds weeks ago but the landscapers failed to turn up in time ... they say towards the end of next week to get the front beds finished and rectify what was poorly done on the back beds area....fingers crossed

Quick transplants and watered in

Did some chancey strawberry runners where I cut a plant in four at the crown ..gave them a dust of rooting hormone and bunged them in a heated deep bed for 14 days .. they now have 2 mm root sprouts . I will treat them with a nematode dose tomorrow as I noticed a tiny white maggot when lifting them out the hot bed..posible the strawberry root saw fly

Added a few more things and decided that I'd beter re-do them in a bigger dia tube this time round as it is winter and I'll be looking to reduce the watering in the green house .

Small station sown seeds normally go in the smaller 44 mm bore waste water tubes because I can get more tubes stood upright in the trays ( thick cat litter trays ) that sit on the hot bed under the misting spray . These trays have a series of 5 mm holes drilled in the bottom as in grid pattern for drainage.