Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: ear tagging  (Read 3517 times)

jacob and Georgina

• Joined May 2010
ear tagging
« on: October 17, 2011, 08:56:25 pm »
i am a total newbie to sheep and before i go ahead and get some there is one last thing (i think) i need to know, if i am buying store lambs now to finish before going to slaughter next feb/march depending on when they reach the correct weight, will these lambs need tagging as soon as the come onto our holding with our herd no? i think i am right in saying that they do not need to have an electronic tag but that is pretty much were my knowledge ends with regards to tagging!!

many thanks in advance

piggy

• Joined Oct 2008
Re: ear tagging
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2011, 09:42:02 pm »
Hi
All sheep are tagged with the flock number of birth and can not be moved without a tag,in England if you are sending a lamb to slaughter under the age of 12 months then it only needs 1 tag,if you planning on keeping the lamb over 12 months then you need to double tag and  1 of these tags must be electronic,i have just sold some lambs and 1 have double tagged them,1 eid and 1 normal,covers both routes then,you do not need to re tag them when they come to you unless they have lost 1 of the tags they came with.
Some of the other more experienced sheep people will be along soon so if i'm wrong please let me know as this is what i have been following.

Karen

jacob and Georgina

• Joined May 2010
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2011, 09:51:06 pm »
so if i understand correctly if they go to slaughter under the age of 12 months (which they will) then they only legally need the 1 tag and that is of the flock number from the farm in which they were born, am i correct??

thenovice

• Joined Oct 2011
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2011, 11:26:21 pm »