Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Totally gutted  (Read 7322 times)

piggy

• Joined Oct 2008
Re: Totally gutted
« Reply #15 on: September 10, 2011, 09:37:58 pm »
This is my first years lambing so sorry to be a bit thick could someone explain to me about clostridial infection.

jaykay

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Cumbria/N Yorks border
« Reply #16 on: September 10, 2011, 09:55:08 pm »
clostridial diseases in sheep

Did you know to vaccinate the ewes pre-lambing with Heptvac, Bravoxin or similar.

Basically they're nasty bacteria that live in the soil, ie everywhere, and they make lethal toxins. Often the only clue it's gone wrong is a dead lamb/sheep  :-*

Roxy

• Joined May 2009
  • Peak District
    • festivalcarriages.co.uk
« Reply #17 on: September 10, 2011, 10:55:45 pm »
Sorry about your lamb.  At least you now know about vaccinating the ewes - and hopefully can prevent it happening again.  There is always something new for us all to learn when keeping livestock, isn't there?

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
« Reply #18 on: September 10, 2011, 11:01:28 pm »
This was the shock late lamb?  Well you wouldn't have known that you needed to boost mum's clostridial antibodies as you didn't know she was in lamb.

And none of us thought about it either - it might have been possible to vaccinate the lamb at a couple of weeks, I think.  Normally you would not vaccinate a suckling lamb as it should be getting its antibodies from mum but in the case of the ewe not having been vaccinated in the 12 weeks prior to lambing I think you can use the vaccine in the lamb.

So I am sorry that I didn't think about it either.  Hopefully all of us will have learned from your sad outcome.   :bouquet:
Don't listen to the money men - they know the price of everything and the value of nothing