Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Pig Arks - Which one?  (Read 14614 times)

josiejumpt500

• Joined Oct 2011
Pig Arks - Which one?
« on: October 13, 2011, 03:17:59 pm »
I have just bought two sister piglets that I would like to keep to breed from. My problem is I'm new to this and am not sure what kind of pig ark to go for? Help please! They are British Saddlebacks

Berkshire Boy

• Joined May 2011
  • Presteigne, Powys
Re: Pig Arks - Which one?
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2011, 04:00:18 pm »
Hi,
The best way to find an ark is look on the net loads to choose from and prices to suit most pockets. DON'T buy anything  from a company called Golden river they have been conning people all over the country.

If you are new to pigs I would suggest that you grow these on for meat and don't breed yet. There is a lot to learn about pigs and it's best to do it one step at a time. If the weaners have been sold as meat pigs you shouldn't really breed from them as the are not up to breed standards.

Get these 2 and enjoy them and learn about them and then next time think about breeding.

Good luck and have fun. :wave:
Everyone makes mistakes as the Dalek said climbing off the dustbin.

Sylvia

• Joined Aug 2009
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2011, 04:08:36 pm »
Whereabouts are you? There is a lovely young man who made my pig arks (Devon) Sturdy, well made, delivers on time and is very reasonable .

josiejumpt500

• Joined Oct 2011
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2011, 04:10:48 pm »
Hi thank you for the advice but they to more be pets than meat. They are only 15 weeks so will be a long time before I breed, I just don't want to have to keep buying different arks as they grow and eventually have litters (in a couple years time). There papers say they are Dinah Line and there dad was a stockbroaker boar.
I have a smallholding with a couple of donkeys and sheep etc and pigs seemed the next logical step (not too many though just keeping the two!)