Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Hi from Cornwall  (Read 2524 times)

hobbyfarmer

• Joined Mar 2011
Hi from Cornwall
« on: March 30, 2011, 12:17:20 am »
Hello ,

I call myself a hobby farmer as thats what my colleagues call me. I work full time as a postie as does my OH but we have a few acres of land where we keep a variety of animals. Obviously the aim is to leave the work we are doing and to concentrate on the smallolding.

We have plans and are slowly working towards them. We keep chickens, ducks and quail for their eggs and my OH has a sideline in making cakes. We also keep some rare breeds . We  have some manx and leicester longwool sheep and a small flock of ouessant ( still looking for a registered ram). We had until recently a pair of bagot goats but sadly our wonderful billy died and we were very concerned for his companion. However having been away on a shopping trip we were surprised to find on our return that a lovely kid had been born against all expectations.

We have a veg patch but are still working on the plans for a polytunnel and fruit cage.

We also have 3 kune kune pigs that arrived unexpectantly but they are great fun. My OH loves them dearly!

We hope by joining the forum we can gain advice to help us progress and to occasionally offer opinion.

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
Re: Hi from Cornwall
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2011, 12:32:24 am »
Hello from nearly as far away from you as I can be and still be in England.  (North Cumbria)

Sally
Don't listen to the money men - they know the price of everything and the value of nothing

Live in a cohousing community with small farm for our own use.  Dairy cows (rearing their own calves for beef), pigs, sheep for meat and fleece, ducks and hens for eggs, veg and fruit growing

JulieS

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Devon - EX39 5RF
    • Ford Mill Farm