Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: prolapse - any one experienced this ?  (Read 8115 times)

countrygirlatheart

• Joined Apr 2008
prolapse - any one experienced this ?
« on: January 10, 2009, 06:37:21 pm »
Hi

unfortunately I have a ewe with a prolapse - she is about 9/10 days away from lambing  Have had vet out who has put stitches in and she is being monitored  This evening tho showed still had some prolapse (albeit smaller) above the stitched area

does anyone have experience of this ?   Ewes are with an experienced friend for lambing as it's my first time this year.  Have obviously sought friend and vet's guidance but would welcome additional comments from those who have also had this problem

I understand that whatever happens the ewe should not be bred from again.  What is the thinking re progeny from such a ewe ?  if we get that far (which isn't likely?) is this a trait that lambs would carry with them ?

any comments welcome - want to learn as much as poss, thanks

VSS

• Joined Jan 2009
  • Pen Llyn
    • Viable Self Sufficiency.co.uk
Re: prolapse - any one experienced this ?
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2009, 07:48:40 pm »
Well, if she was mine I would notch her lambs ear at birth (a permanaent and unmissable mark) and would then be sure not to keep her as a breeding replacement. In all fairness she should go to the butcher. Having said that it really depends on how tough you are in selecting your replacements -if your sheep are pets, you might give any ewe lamb the benefit of the doubt.

we have selected hard for easy lambing so any ewes that have a difficult lambing go - and so do their daughters. Breeding problems tend to be hereditary
The SHEEP Book for Smallholders
Available from the Good Life Press

www.viableselfsufficiency.co.uk

countrygirlatheart

• Joined Apr 2008
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2009, 09:33:11 pm »