Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Electronic identification  (Read 8048 times)

The Chicken Lady

• Joined Mar 2008
  • Cheshire
Electronic identification
« on: February 09, 2009, 11:17:55 am »
I don't understand but know the rules for sheep identification are changing. Am I right in thinking that by the end of the year we have to electronically identify sheep? I am new to keeping sheep and have only just go my head round all the paper work  ??? My 5 ryeland ewes are due to lamb at the middle to end of next month so I am looking to buy ear tags etc. I have seen the earlier posts about ear tags but should I be looking for something else as I don't want to waste my money  :-X  :sheep:
Karen

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
Re: Electronic identification
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2009, 08:24:16 pm »
I don't THINK EID is a done deal yet. It's EU wheeze and is meeting with very strong opposition from farmers throughout the EU. The technology appears not to be reliable and with flocks of 1000 or so ewes, it's just not practicable to have individual ID.

woollyval

• Joined Feb 2008
  • Near Bodmin, Cornwall
    • Val Grainger
    • Facebook
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2009, 09:33:49 pm »
Oh its a done deal all right :'( Look at the DEFRA website and search under electronic tagging...........makes my blood boil................
www.valgrainger.co.uk

Overall winner of the Devon Environmental Business Awards 2009

BadgerFace

• Joined Jan 2009
  • Sussex
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2009, 09:26:40 am »
From DEFRA

NEWS RELEASE
Ref: 17/09
Date: 28 January 2009

Nobel House, 17 Smith Square, London SW1P 3JR
Out of hours telephone 020 7270 8960
Newly negotiated sheep EID rules come into force