Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: counting the losses  (Read 3439 times)

northfifeduckling

• Joined Jan 2009
  • Fife
    • North Fife Blog
counting the losses
« on: February 26, 2011, 03:13:54 pm »
I lost quite a few plants in the greenhouse this year - some out of pure negligence (Avocado, Ginger), some a bit unexpected, as I had thought they withstand the cold (Thyme, Lemon)... :'( ah, well, time to start again! And I am still learning as we never had a greenhouse before last year!  :&>

doganjo

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Qui? Moi?
    • ABERDON GUNDOGS for work and show
    • Facebook
Re: counting the losses
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2011, 06:09:38 pm »
I don't have a greenhouse but I've lost an awful lot of my pot plants on the new gravel garden my son and I made last year.  Wondering if they'd fare better dug into the ground, so think I'll tackle one or two of the surviving ones tomorrow.
Always have been, always will be, a WYSIWYG - black is black, white is white - no grey in my life! But I'm mellowing in my old age

bloomer

• Joined Aug 2010
  • leslie, fife
  • i have chickens, sheep and opinions!!!
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2011, 06:30:29 pm »
i have lots of pots and stuff in the ground and i believe i know what im doing and im in the midlands and still i have lost a lot of stuff this year

like ALL my french lavenders!!!

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2011, 06:42:04 pm »
French lavenders are very tender.  After one year of losing them all I don't even try any more.  I think things in pots will suffer more in a cold year as their roots are more exposed out of the soil, with only a thin pot to protect them. Also it's difficult to get waterinmg right in winter.
 Even in my greenhouse-inside-my-polytunnel lots of things have been lost this year.  The great thing about gardening is that come Spring you can just start all over again  :)