Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Slaughtering our pigs for the first time  (Read 10276 times)

juliag

• Joined Nov 2008
  • Wanstrow somerset
Slaughtering our pigs for the first time
« on: November 24, 2008, 02:41:08 pm »
Hi there,
I am new to this so please forgive me if I have put this in the wrong place etc. I have just booked my first 2 pigs in to be slaughtered on the 15th dec,  I have my pig movement licence but cannot find the food information forms I need. The abbatoir needs them with the movement licence when I take the pigs in. I have been asked to have them there for between 7.30am and 8am, is it advisable to load them into the trailer the night before and give them a good bed in there or is that an absolute no-no? Also am I supposed to make sure they are totally clean? as they spend most of their time in the mud now! However they are not filthy just muddy legs.
Also how long generally before I would pick the meat up as we have already sold one pig to friends and  I am assuming our meat will be back before xmas!
Thanks for taking the time to read this , all replies will be gratfully appreciated!  :pig: ???
juliag

garden cottage

• Joined Sep 2008
  • forest of dean
Re: Slaughtering our pigs for the first time
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2008, 06:52:12 am »
Hi, most of this is on previous posts, go to food standards agency website for food chain forms, load pigs the night before is a must, they will be fine in the trailer overnight. when you get them back depends on the slaughterhouse, if ours go in on mon or tues you normally get them back on friday, do you know how you want the pig butchered? marking on pigs must be either slap mark or metal tags,most slaughterhouses dont like plastic ones as they will not survive the process. as long as their reasonably clean dont worry about mud on legs, rub it off with some straw if its to bad.  best of luck neil

Gary

• Joined Nov 2008
  • axminster