Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Lambs going onto lush pasture  (Read 1475 times)

Griffy78

• Joined Jun 2020
Lambs going onto lush pasture
« on: June 01, 2020, 01:27:09 pm »
Hi everyone - newbie here  :wave:

I have recently had two 9 week old Cade lambs that were bought up indoors when we had them off the farmer.
With this in mind, we carried on with them indoors at night and out on quite a small patch in the day time with hay and creep too (have finished bottle feeding them now).
My question is (so sorry if it’s a daft question!!) - I’ve tried to build them up slowly to having grass but want to move them across to their ‘proper’ paddock. It’s not been grazed by the horses for 18 mths, so I’d say it’s quite rich pasture. Do I need to be careful with how quickly they move across and will they gorge themselves until they bloat??
Any tips or thoughts on moving them across to the bigger/richer grass and also the step of them staying outdoors 24/7 too?
Thanks  :D

arobwk

• Joined Nov 2015
  • Kernow: where 2nd-home owners rule !
Re: Lambs going onto lush pasture
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2020, 12:34:58 am »
Hi Griffy78 - welcome to the forum.  I don't know enough about non-bloating pasture, but I'm sure someone else will come along soon with good advice.

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2020, 02:11:35 am »
Yup, you definitely need to be careful.  Any way you can put them out for an hour twice a day or something?  Or make a pen within the field?
Don't listen to the money men - they know the price of everything and the value of nothing

Live in a cohousing community with small farm for our own use.  Dairy cows (rearing their own calves for beef), pigs, sheep for meat and fleece, ducks and hens for eggs, veg and fruit growing

bj_cardiff

• Joined Feb 2017
  • Carmarthenshire
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2020, 06:32:39 am »