Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Bloat or simply full?  (Read 994 times)

Goldberry

• Joined Jun 2020
Bloat or simply full?
« on: June 10, 2020, 03:27:15 am »
I’m brand new to keeping sheep and we’ve learned a lot in the last 6 weeks but I’m still struggling with bloat. I’ve read great articles and posts about what it is and what can cause it but my confidence in ID is low.

Our 3 month old lambs are filling out quickly. Usually in the evenings when I’m looking at them, they look so round and usually display a larger bulge on the left side. I’m worried about bloat when I see this, but they display no other symptoms and by morning the bulge is gone. This happens regularly. Is this mild bloat or Is this just a full lamb after a long, hard day of eating?

Am I paranoid? Yes! :D

Would it be a good safeguard just to put baking soda out free choice or with mineral?

Thanks for sharing your experiences with a new shepherd!

bj_cardiff

• Joined Feb 2017
  • Carmarthenshire
Re: Bloat or simply full?
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2020, 09:19:35 am »
Its a full tummy, ewes also have it after a hard day eating! They will sit down overnight and cud and burp :)

Bloat can happen in sheep at any age, however in 12 yrs of keeping sheep and goats I've only ever seen it once in a goat and maybe twice in lambs that were on the bottle. Bottle fed lambs are greedy and prone to bloat when drinking milk from the bottle, especially when they are eating creep/grass/hay. I assume yours are weaned? I would just relax, you have got them through the danger stage!
« Last Edit: June 10, 2020, 09:22:36 am by bj_cardiff »

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2020, 10:22:21 am »
Ruminants should be either grazing, sleeping or cudding.  When they are cudding, they bring up a mouthful of cud, chew it for a bit, and swallow it.  If they are cudding, all is well :)