Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: At last we have purchased 9 acres of land  (Read 1448 times)

Leefle

• Joined Mar 2020
  • Devon
At last we have purchased 9 acres of land
« on: March 19, 2020, 07:12:48 pm »
Good evening

My name is lee, and I have just purchased 9 acres of agricultural land, the goal is to create a small holding.
I have very keen girls more excited about this than I could imagine, and I would in the future like to build a dwelling on the land, I have little experience but for years have tried to purchase land, please if you could offer any good advice I would really appreciate it.
The land is in South Devon and is a mixture of both flat and sloped areas.

Regards

Lee

cambee

• Joined Feb 2017
  • High Peak
Re: At last we have purchased 9 acres of land
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2020, 07:10:39 am »
Hi Lee welcome to this fabulous forum where you can get loads of brilliant advice as I have experienced over the last 3 years. You need to ask specific questions really on the relevant subject for the best advice. What are you interested in doing? If it’s keeping sheep and you want to know about which breed go on the sheep forum and ask. It’s very exciting when you get your first smallholding.

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2020, 12:01:29 pm »
Hello Lee, welcome and congratulations on your land purchase.  It's a great feeling  :sunshine: .
Are you near a village, as you would probably be better to rent a house in the village, as getting planning permission to build a dwelling on your land is a long and exhausting task apparently - years not months, with no promise of success at the end.