Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: how much for a diy coop  (Read 4748 times)

daddymatty82

• Joined Aug 2010
  • swindon
how much for a diy coop
« on: October 19, 2010, 11:38:30 pm »

nothing special but i want to build something out of pallets on the bare minimum i got a ready source of pallets i can get about 100 a week free. im going to start having bonfires burning the rubbish in the garden but i like wood on the fire so will use the rubbish bits in that. on a guesstimation what would be better screws or nails, and which size would you go for i really don't want to make one but im thinking if i can get pallets free i may aswell have a go at making something i want/need as its coming to winter i may aswell do something useful with my time now. so main question is how much would i need to spend on nails and screws etc. im not good with making things much so how would you go about it.Im thinking of something similar as this>>

http://www.shedstore.co.uk/garden-storage/larchlap-garden-storage/overlap-tool-chest-43/larchlap-overlap-tool-chest-43-4-by-3

any help or plans would be great

Womble

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Stirlingshire, Central Scotland
Re: how much for a diy coop
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2010, 12:43:47 am »
so main question is how much would i need to spend on nails and screws etc.

About a tenner I should think, or less if you went with cheapo screws.

There is a book on building with pallets which you might be able to order from your local library. Or you could do what I did, which was to search the interweb until I found a picture of one I liked, and then shamelessly copied it!  ;)

HTH!
"All fungi are edible. Some fungi are only edible once." -Terry Pratchett

shrekfeet

• Joined Sep 2008
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2010, 01:54:38 pm »
haulage companies will buy used pallets. Sell em and buy some decent timber for buidling your hen house

shetlandpaul

• Joined Oct 2008
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2010, 02:24:55 pm »