Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Sheepskin advice  (Read 1338 times)

docsal

• Joined Feb 2017
Sheepskin advice
« on: June 07, 2019, 10:30:52 am »
We have our first ram lambs approaching slaughter weight (I think..... hairy Hebs, so hard to tell what size they are under all that wool!). I would really like to have sheepskins as well as meat but as a complete novice am unsure re best timing and trade-offs for meat/skin. If I sent them off now, they have wonderful long, crimpy fleeces. If we keep them I will need to have them sheared. In this case - how long will it take for the wool to re-grow to an optimum length???

Apologies if these are silly questions but I am really committed to trying to make best use of every part of the animals (and even have a buyer lined up for the skulls/horns!)
Sally

fsmnutter

• Joined Oct 2012
  • Fettercairn, Aberdeenshire
Re: Sheepskin advice
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2019, 11:17:35 am »
When were they born? If they're last year's lambs, the fleece will be close to rising for shearing, which means it's no longer attached to the skins and will come off in processing. The ideal time for having long haired skins is around September/ October before any new growth starts pushing the old hairs out.

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2019, 11:19:59 am »
First off, you should check with your tannery.  We use Devonia, and their equipment doesn’t work well on skins where the wool has a staple length of more than about 4”. 

Next, check the fleece yourself.  Some primitives can start to self-roo, where the fleece comes away by itself.  Once the sheep is starting to do this, there’s a weak spot in the staple and it’s likely to fall apart in the processing.  Because of this, many people say the sheep should have been “born or shorn” within the year you send them off - but Devonia do not stipulate this.