Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Best Farrowing arks?  (Read 3212 times)

Jefner87

• Joined Sep 2018
Best Farrowing arks?
« on: September 05, 2018, 05:15:07 pm »
 :pig: New to the forum and looking for a bit of advice from anyone who has bred pigs on a small scale.
I’ve been fattening pigs for a couple of years now but have a bit of a soft spot for a couple of the gilts we have this time round so have decided to keep them and try to breed from them. I have everything set up in terms of feeding and even AI but I’m a bit overwhelmed by the options when it comes to farrowing. The place we source our weaners from is a more intensive unit so he’s all for indoors and farrowing crates which is prefer to avoid.
I like the idea of trying to keep them outdoors, even if it’s only weather dependant or for part of the year. We have plenty of options of land to fence off and use but the problem I’m having is deciding on the the best arks in terms of animal health/welfare and cost/delivery to Scotland.
 There will be three gilts in total so I’m trying to weigh up the pros and cons of farrowing them in stables which are unused at the moment then turning them out into the outdoor field once the piglets are big enough  or getting farrowing arks and keeping them outside the whole time.
If I do the latter which style of ark is best for the girls and their young? And where is best to source them on a relatively low budget?
Any help or advice for a newbie pig breeder would be much appreciated.

« Last Edit: September 06, 2018, 11:49:11 am by Dan »

harmony

• Joined Feb 2012
Re: Best Farrowing arks?
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2018, 10:10:33 pm »
Hello  :wave:

Firstly, if you bought your pigs as fatteners are they suitable for breeding? Have they got at least 12 evenly spaced teats, better still fourteen. And no dummies. To be fair to the breeder he sold you pigs for fattening not for breeding, which would have been more expensive.