Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: New Veg Plot - help please!  (Read 3770 times)

sarahevers

• Joined Aug 2010
  • Bellingham, Northumberland
New Veg Plot - help please!
« on: August 13, 2010, 05:17:11 pm »
I have just been given a walled Victorian kitchen garden to do with as I please, but I am relatively new to growing stuff. I am in Northumberland and just wondered if anyone could tell me what type of things I can plant now? The plot has 2 greenhouses and a cold frame - I don't know if these make a difference to what I will be able to grow. My two year old is also really excited about planting seeds so any info on things that grow quickly from seed would be great too

Thanks

Sarah  :)

Mickyork

• Joined Feb 2010
  • Yeadingham, North Yorkshire
Re: New Veg Plot - help please!
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2010, 06:05:28 pm »
Hi Sarah & welcome. You are in the right place for any help. There are lot's of good posts & nice helpful people here.   8) 8) 8) 8)
Live for today. Tomorrow never comes

bibs

• Joined Jul 2009
  • dorset
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2010, 06:15:27 pm »
Hi
just off the top of my head , you can put winter lettuces in and endives - prepare ground for a sowing of broad beans in November , same for garlic and onions ( for an early crop next year although main planting time is March April  - I am in Dorset so it might be a touch warmer here) . Rhubarb crowns can be planted in october ..... If you want to do onions from seed - august is your month , you can also do salad onions now to eat in spring. You could also do a short rooted variety of carrots now to eat in November December but they would need to be covered with a cloche from october onwards. Spring cabbages too - sow now for spring greens.
You could do the lettuces in the cold frame. ( and the carrots )